View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gethryon

re: Gaming can make a better world...

I know that while reading the following, you might think at some point that it's going to be a boring post and decide to just skip this one and continue whatever you were doing. I ask you to please try not to. (or if you trust me, skip my gibberish and click on that link to watch a very inspiring talk about the game we play)

Over my last 4 years of playing WoW, I've gotten this idea that WoW players aren't dumb. Raiding isn't an easy achievement. It's hard work. It's collaborative work. It's satisfactionary work. And as a psychology student I've always wondered what kind of research I could throw into this game (because there's really so much interesting things going on in this gaming world - plus the fact that doing research on something I enjoy playing a lot just sounds awesome and not like work at all :P).

Jane McGonigal talks about online gaming and how it could literally make a better world. I found it a very inspiring talk. She's done the research, she's done the thinking, and she's a good speaker. You don't need to have any sort of background to understand what she's saying. It's for general public. Watch it here:

http://www.ted.com/talks/jane_mcgonigal_gaming_can_make_a_better_world.html
merrick

5.93 million years!!!!!!!!! wtf!!!!!

Geth, I loved this. I have long had similar thoughts and wondered just how the power of gaming could be harnessed even more positively.

I already think gaming has many powerful benefits.

I have also spent hours wondering on the depth of social interaction/ behavioral quirks, team work and leadership found in WoW.

So many examples but I am dozy and will ramble more about this another time.

i thought "save the cheerleader = save the world!" but i understand that in order to save the world i need to play wow much much more.

from now on say - kill the lich king = save the world Happy

was very nice geth, thanks mate.

tiny